Skip to content

Rocky Mountain Hello

August 5, 2009

I know, I know.  I’ve been lagging in my blog posts.  I’m determined to start anew in my fervored passion to bring enlightening stories to my readership.  So from this point forward I intend to keep up with this.  That said, so much has happened over the last month, that I do not know where to begin.  So I will let Nikki perform the heavy-lifting for me.  She has already posted a recap on our travels to Tulsa, Siloam Springs, Kansas City, Springfield, and Denver here, here, and here.  So brush up on those if you are looking for the full picture.  As for me, I’m going to share some thoughts on this week thus far.

This past Sunday we experienced a rare pleasure in actually being able to attend church at Westside here in Hutch and not being on the road for a change.  It is always encouraging to be around family, and that is what Westside is to us.  Pastor Tim spoke quite passionately on the need for the church to work together toward our purpose of bringing glory to the Lord, a particularly relevant topic to address as we prepare for the finish of the remodeling project of the children’s, toddler’s, and nursery departments that has been ongoing for the past year.  Pastor Tim brought fed us some good food for thought, reminding us that our investment in updating the building is not what’s going to draw people in and impact lives.  It provides us with a tool for that cause, but ultimately the effectiveness of our ministry is determined by the willingness to serve that is found in the body of Christ.  Spur of the moment, Pastor Tim called me up front for an illustration of this point.  Putting me on the spot, he asked me to name off all of the people I could think of who had taught me and invested in my life, through Sunday School, through AWANA, through the youth department.  As he called more people up to the front to stand alongside me, it was humbling to be reminded of the impact that an attitude of service can bring about in this world.  Something as simple as Rob Rue teaching my 1st grade Sunday School class, or Miss Bonnie telling Bible stories to us when I was six.  I still carry those memories with me to this day and I could vividly picture in my mind’s eye little moments that stood out as I interacted with each of these people now standing beside me.  I am by no means anything special, but I have journeyed down a path now for many years, a path of determination to follow Christ wherever it might lead me  in this world.  A path of hardships and trials that have worn down on me at times.  A path of immense fulfillment in knowing that I have a purpose in my life, and a great responsibility to fulfill.  A path that began as a result of this simple stories and lessons from long ago.

Ultimately, I pray that God was able to drive this message home on the hearts of all in our church.  We each have a role to fill and part to play in reaching our community through our church.  No matter what our service may be, it can be used to impact the lives of those around us and to strengthen our church.  I’m thankful for all who have ever served at Westside during my time there in any capacity.

Things keep rolling along for Nikki and me as we seek to share our ministry.  I’m sure I will have many more exciting stories to tell in the days to come, but for now I will just sign off with our Colorado mix:

No Brakes – The Bravery – The Bravery

Wander – The Album Leaf – An Orchestrated Rise To Fall

Sender – Pinback – Summer in Abaddon

Middleman – Bright Eyes – Cassadaga

Superpowers – Five Iron Frenzy – Our Newest Album Ever

Moment – Gran Bel Fisher – Full Moon Cigarette

Move On – Jet – Dirty Sweet

Owl Eyes – The Headlights – Kill Them With Kindness

Rain City – Turin Brakes – Ether Song

Your Protector – Fleet Foxes – Fleet Foxes

He Tried To Escape – Midlake – Bamnan and Silvercork

Somerville – Pernice Brothers – Live A Little

Saint Simon – The Shins – Chutes Too Narrow

Handbook For The Sellout – Five Iron Frenzy – Our Newest Album Ever

Andy You’re A Star – The Killers – Hot Fuss

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

