Skip to content

Culture Shock Part 1

December 4, 2009

After seven long weeks on the road, most of which were spent in California, Nikki and I have finally returned home.  Although it was an eventful, productive, busy trip, in many ways it was a refreshing time for us to learn and reevaluate ourselves and our methods and make adjustments.  With that said, it has been a criminally long time since I have posted on my blog, and one of my new commitments is to be better at posting on here regularly.  I’ve had a few promptings in this regards as well from my readership, you know who you are.  I’m going to make it a short post tonight, but over the course of the next week I am going to share some stories and thoughts from the past month and a half on the road.

Aside from a short layover in LAX, this was my first time to experience California and it was quite eye-opening.  It truly is a whole different culture from the Midwest, and as a missionary preparing for cross-cultural ministry, I was fascinated by my time there.  Never have I seen so many trendy, hip, and attractive people all at once.  It was clear to me that I was witnessing the latest in fashionable culture.  I also found myself exposed to the latest hit songs repeatedly.  Singles from Jay-Z, Lady Gaga and Miley Cyrus populated everyone’s playlists, and I’m sure in a couple more months they will be playing repeatedly here in the Midwest.  Materialism runs rampant everywhere you look, ruling the mindset of life.  I know it is evident wherever you go, but it has reached a whole new level in California.  Everyone is all about having the latest, the best, the biggest and the baddest.  It sparked in my own self jealousy and pity all at once.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

