Skip to content

Let The Grand Experiment Begin!

January 9, 2010

Day 1:

Curiosity is one of the permanent and certain characteristics of a vigorous intellect.

~Samuel Johnson

In the spirit of continuously allowing my curiosity to expand in its drive for knowledge, I am beginning a little science experiment today.  While out in California this past November, Nikki introduced me to the growing West Coast craze of self serve frozen yogurt shops.  Upon entering, you choose your size of container and begin filling it up with your own choice of yogurts and toppings, blending together whatever you desire.  They then weigh your creation and charge you accordingly.  While at one such chain, Yogurtland, I noticed that the spoon I was using had some writing etched into its backside claiming that it was fully biodegradable.  Hmmmm.  “I wonder how long this spoon would take to dissolve when left out in the elements,” I wondered aloud.  That got a laugh from Nikki (or maybe it was an eye-roll).  Still, I determined to take the spoon with me and put it to the test to see just how biodegradable it really is.  So on Thursday I took this photo to kick off my little experiment.  Once a week I will check back in on the spoon to demonstrate its progress.  Together we shall learn just how long it will take for this spoon to fully disintegrate.  Welcome to the path of greater knowledge of irrelevant yet intriguing clutter for your mind.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2010 10:00 pm

    That’s both hilarious and intriguing at the same time. I’ll be watching (and adding you to my blogroll!)

    -Marc

Trackbacks

  1. Day 282 « Luminous Vignettes

Leave a Reply

