Skip to content

Day 63

March 10, 2010

I’m back from a work imposed hiatus from blogging and ready to go with multiple posts this week.  It has been far too long, but I still have plenty to say.  First we’ll jump back into The Great Spoon Experiment.

Yes, it has been 63 days since I first began this journey of biodegradable curiosity.  I took this picture last week before leaving town.  As you can see, not a lot of disintegration has occurred quite yet, although I was pleased to note some discoloration in the curvature of the bowl starting to show.  This process could take a lot longer than I originally thought.  That or the manufacturer’s promise of the spoon being biodegradable was inaccurate.  I’m leaning toward it taking awhile, but I have been researching the biodegradation process and I might try to tweak my experimentation process.  I know it kind of breaks the scientific process to not change variables in method and stimulus mid-stream in an experiment, but I guess I’m just out of control (pun!).  Seriously though, this is mostly just about fulfilling my curious nature and witnessing what seemed to be a rather amazing claim found on the back of my yogurt spoon.  I will be satisfied in the end so long as I have one less spoon in my possession.  Until I see accelerated progress with it though, my posts will probably be infrequent.  Hang in there, we will get through this together.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 10, 2010 3:31 pm

    Dip that bad boy in some dirt or water. Let’s see some spoon carnage!

Leave a Reply

