Skip to content

Dear Zac

May 18, 2010

Yesterday I heard the news that Zac Smith had passed away.  Although I never met him personally, I’ve been incredibly blessed by the influence of his father, Jim, both through the many years of following his work as a missionary in Ecuador, and through interacting with him in our preparations to go to the Philippines as our Mission Director.  I’ve been following his blog for some time now here on my site at the following link, Hello? Right on!, and I’ve been inspired and encouraged by both his spiritual wisdom and his faith in the Lord throughout his battle with cancer.  My prayers go out to Zac’s family and friends during this time, but I also praise the Lord that Zac is no longer suffering from pain.  Zac Smith is with Jesus now.  His pastor, Perry Noble, sums up best in his blog post on the subject here.  I would encourage all who read this to watch the video on Noble’s post and witness the incredible hope and peace that only Jesus Christ can give us, and to read through his blog posts.  He was truly an amazing individual.  I just want to express my feelings in epistolary form:

Dear Zac,

We’ve never met, but we have so much in common.  We both love to write and share our thoughts with the world, chiefly through the “blogosphere”.  We both take humor in the world around us, as evidenced in your “Top 10 Dumbest Gadgets O’ The Week” that you regularly posted on your site.  But most importantly, we both have a deep relationship with Jesus Christ that has motivated us to serve the Lord whole-heartedly with our lives.  Yesterday I heard the news of your passing, and it filled me with sorrow and joy.  Sorrow for the pain your family and friends are now experiencing, yet a joy that they will one day be reunited with you in worship of the Father for eternity.  I never met you Zac, and for that I am truly regretful.  I’ve stood in awe of your perseverance and faithful commitment for the Lord through your long, painful fight against cancer.  Your continual belief in the goodness of God through this tragic fight has left me humbled and amazed.  You’ve challenged me to be a better husband, son, brother, and friend and to live this life to the fullest for Christ.  I can’t thank you enough for that. I may not have gotten the chance to meet you in this life, but one day we will meet, and I look forward to that day.  Until that day, your memory lives on in the hearts of those who have been impacted by your life.  Thank you so much for your living out your devotion to the Lord as an example we can all strive for.  I’m looking forward to praising God with you one day in His presence.

Jordan

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

