Skip to content

Day 139

May 26, 2010

It has been quite a long time since I’ve been able to check the status of The Great Spoon Experiment due to my travels.  I’ve been eager to see how things are progressing after our eco-friendly little spoon has been buried in the earth for so long.  Imagine my surprise and dismay then when I dug it up out of my in-law’s flower garden to see that it is still mostly in one piece.  Although I would say there is some minor discoloration, it has been rather disappointing to witness the snail-pace it has taken for this spoon to be broken down and disintegrated into nature.  I have included a look at the back of the spoon to show I am not crazy.  “They” do indeed claim that their spoon is biodegradable.  Now, I’m not ready to call it quits or disagree with them, but it does seem like one of these spoons will sit in a landfill for a considerably extensive amount of time.  I’ve got another six months before heading to the Philippines, so we will see if we can bid farewell to our blue spoon friend by then.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

