Skip to content

If a picture is worth a thousand words, how much is a video worth?

June 16, 2010

After 3 months on the road and staying with Nikki’s parents in Kansas City, Nikki and I are officially back in the Hutch, K.  It has been a busy time for us, and I will be sharing more about this past week we spent in Iowa shortly.  But in the meantime I just wanted to drop a quick post to verify that I am alive and well.  I am excited for the summer and all that it holds in store for us, and it feels so invigorating to be back in my home town, in our “own” house, as much as I really did enjoy staying with my in-laws and working out of our supporting church in KC, Glenwood Baptist.

Today I’m just going to share a little taste of what I have been enjoying on blogs I read, or as the case may be, watching on these blogs.  The first comes from the blog of Peter Sagal, host of Wait Wait … Don’t Tell Me!:  The NPR News-Quiz Show.  If you’ve paid close attention to my blog, you would know that I am an avid fan of Sagal’s and Wait Wait, whether it be listening to the podcast of the show every week (or listening live to the radio broadcast on Saturday mornings whenever possible), checking out the Wait Wait blog and twitter-feed, keeping up on Sagal’s personal blog and twitter-feed, or following his articles on script-writing on the AMC movie blog.  If you have no clue what any of this is, check out a podcast episode and I think you will be pleasantly surprised and pleased at the informative humor of the show.  Well in a recent post on his blog, Sagal shared some video clips of him performing a monologue at a recent festival entitled “I, Henchman”.  Basically he spoke from the viewpoint of one of the hapless minions of an evil mad scientist/supervillain and it was laugh-out-loud funny.

For background on his monologue, as well as an explanation of the ending (the camera angle & lighting are not the best) read his post here first.

Another blog I follow regularly right now is that of film director Edgar Wright.  I’ve been a fan of Wright’s since viewing Shaun of the Dead, his zombie romantic comedy satire.  I began following his posts with rapt attention because of his newest film coming out in August:  Scott Pilgrim vs. The World.  It is based on a series of graphic novels by writer Bryan Lee O’Malley about a guy who begins dating a girl only to find out that he must now battle her seven evil ex-boyfriends in epic, video-game frenzied battle royales.  As a homage to the classic fighter video games of yesteryear, it is only fitting that a video game is being made of Scott Pilgrim in the same kind of 8-bit graphic style that it lovingly references.  The trailer for the game just came out at E3 and it has all the ingredients of an instant classic:  Side-scrolling 2-D graphics?  Check.  Retro video game electronica soundtrack?  Check.  Multi-player fighting team-up?  Check.  This is one video game based on a movie that surely won’t disappoint.

The final video I wanted to share I saw at my friend Chad’s blog.  Chad is a professional photographer and helps lead worship at my old church in Springfield.  Chad is an immensely creative person and I thoroughly enjoy following on his blog to see pictures from his photo shoots, music he is listening to, and anything else he might share.  A week or so back he shared this short film he had come across.  I was blown away by the simplicity of the story-telling, impressed by the conveyance of the emotions without dialog to spell it out, and the quality look of the cinematography.  I believe the original website said it was made in Portugal and it was meant to advertise the brand LG and their slogan of Life’s Good.  Unfortunately, I could not find a way to place the video on my blog, but you can view it here on Chad’s.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. luminousvignettes permalink
    June 18, 2010 12:57 pm

    I have loved your last few posts. There have been some laugh-out-loud lines in them, and touching ones as well. You are such a gifted writer and I am proud of you in every way! Love you!

  2. mrsnisly permalink
    June 18, 2010 12:59 pm

    I just realized you were still logged in…I didn’t hijack your blog. But now it looks like you commented on your own blog. Sorry.

  3. Bryan Franco permalink
    June 23, 2010 4:36 am

    hahaha. Thanks mrsnisly. I really enjoyed Jordan complementing himself.

Leave a Reply

