Skip to content

Mission Accomplished

June 28, 2010

This past month I was able to check off a significant accomplishment from my New Year’s goal list.  Although I did not list this goal out when I shared my resolutions here on my blog back in January, I set out this year with the intent of seeing a piece of my writing  published.  In May I witnessed this desire of mine come to fruition, although not exactly in the fashion I had originally envisioned.

Back in March I was approached by my pastor, Tim Adrian, and my “boss”, Greg Lyons (the missionary I am working under in the Philippines), to write an article promoting our ministry for the Baptist Bible Tribune.  In particular, they desired me to place an emphasis on my particular ministry focus in Manila, Baptist Bible College Asia, promoting it to stateside pastors and extending an invitation to attend our graduation right after the international pastor’s meeting that is in the works to be held in Cebu City, Philippines, next February.  So I called upon my past journalism experience to craft an article that would demonstrate all of the amazing things God has been doing through our training ministry with the school and the future potential that exists in it.  I submitted it to the editor of the Tribune and waited for May to roll around.  And there it was!  How much attention it garnered I do not know, but hopefully it achieved the desired impact of widening the knowledge and interest in BBCA.

Now I knew from the start that my name would not be attached in any kind of authorial credit to the article, seeing as how it was being included more as a news brief, but that was fine by me.  I wasn’t really looking for or needing any kind of pat on the back.  The only reason I mention it here on my blog is because I just wanted to share with those of you who follow along here about my success in crossing that off the list of New Year’s Goals.  If you are interested, you can check out the article here.  Nikki and I also send out a monthly email update about our ministry, in which we feature stories of students who are seeking to serve God and are currently enrolled in the school.  If you would like to learn more and receive those updates to your email, contact me at makeyourmarkinmanila@gmail.com.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Bryan Franco permalink
    June 28, 2010 6:54 pm

    Awesome man. Stupid Bassham, if he would’ve put your name on it, their readership would’ve exponentially increased. Keep it up.

  2. luminousvignettes permalink
    June 29, 2010 9:24 pm

    To be fair to Brother Bassham, Greg approached me from the start, not Bassham, and said that my name would not be on it, so I can’t say with any certainty whose call that was, but it really didn’t bother me. But thanks for the vote of confidence bud. I appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

