Skip to content

Day 190

July 17, 2010

After a week of longer, in-depth posts on my recent sermon series (Time to Shine parts 1 – 5), I took the past couple days off from blogging to take a breather.  Now I’m back with a vengeance, and I’m going to shoot out several short, succinct statements on a variety of topics over the course of the next few days as I ease my way back in.  Today my curiosity led me to check in on everyone’s favorite utensil based ecological study.  You all know it as “The Great Spoon Experiment.”  We are nearing the 200 day mark and I am still disappointed by the lack of progress* being made in the degradation of my blue plastic biodegradable spoon.  But for the sake of science, I will press on!

As you can tell from the first picture, the spoon has begun to reach a point where it is hard for me to get it wholly cleaned of the dirt that it has been buried in.  The spoon itself has also become warped, as demonstrated above, which I take to be a good indicator of some progress being made.

It may be hard to tell in this final picture, but there is some (for lack of a better word) fraying of the plastic on the lip of its conclave end.  Again, this is a positive sign of degradation, though I would have hoped for it to be partially disintegrated by now.  But I am a patient man, and I will continue for as long as it takes to see this spoon return from whence it came!  Nikki and I are preparing to hit the road until December, so it will be a few months before I can follow up on this, but hopefully during that time period we will be able to find some real progress made.

*Disclaimer:  I am by no means a real “scientist”, nor do I play one on TV.  My adherence to the Scientific Process has been haphazard at best and this experiment cannot be considered a very accurately controlled observation of the oxo-biodegradable plastic industry.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 18, 2010 1:13 am

    I think we’ll be taking this spoon with us to the Philippines at the rate this is going.

Leave a Reply

