Skip to content

A Case of Mistaken Identity

July 18, 2010

Last night I was disturbed from my peaceful slumber at 3 a.m. by the vibration of my wife’s cell phone.  (On a side note, my friend and fellow blogger, Marc, was also woken up in the middle of the night last night.  Congratulations on becoming a father, Marc!)  I was slightly perturbed by this disruption in my sleep cycle, but soon I drifted back into the throes of the dream world.  Upon waking this morning though, I was amused to find out it was a text message from Nikki’s stubborn wrong-number-guy.

But I am getting ahead of myself.  Our story begins on a similar night all the way back in June:

Was up is this lindsey

Poor grammar and punctuation aside (it is text messaging after all), my best guess is he or she meant “wazzup”.  At the time, Nikki chose to ignore their message.  Then a couple weeks later, she received a series of text messages, again in the middle of the night (either this person is in Tokyo, works 3rd Shift, or is out at da club all the time, not sure which).  This time she was annoyed and decided to tell them to knock it off.  Here is the following back and forth that proceeded:

Mysterious Texter:  A was up u awake Cjbanks13

Nikki:  I think you have the wrong number.

The Alleged Cjbanks13:  No dis is lil cj banks fool

To his credit, Cjbanks13 is not one to easily give up.  He was determined to get “Lindsey” to pay him the attention he felt he so rightly deserved.

Cjbanks13:  Y are u not textin back

An Increasingly Annoyed Nikki:  Because I’m trying to sleep and I don’t know who you are.  I told you once.  You have the wrong number.

The Rather Dense Cjbanks13:  Cause u know me its cj banks fool wat u talkin bout yo brother tyler u no josh i just text u last week and [expletive deleted] y u actin boosie fool

Nikki, with some finality:  Well I don’t know any of those people.  My name is Nikki.  Again…you must have got the number wrong.  Sorry and goodnight.

He made one final attempt, with just his text name sent again:

Cjbanks13

It was like he was trying to emphasize his identity one last time to jog Nikki’s memory.  Although I feel for the guy (after all, he is just trying to get in touch with a girl he likes), I think Nikki was firm and fair, polite but adamant in her response.  I figured this would be the end of our relationship with our persistent text Romeo.  I was proven to be wrong.  Last night was another attempt by “Lil CJ Banks” to contact the incorrect person.  This was the simple text he sent:

was up Prunehandler13 (Again, I think he meant the more popular vernacular wazzup)

Interesting new choice in name, he must be a pretty big fan of fruit.  I’m assuming he changed his cell phone handle because he wanted a little more anonymity in his texting.  I’m guessing he’s pretty regular too.  Part of me wants to call the guy and tell him to quit texting us in the middle of the night, that he seriously does have the wrong number.  The other part of me hopes for some more unintentionally hilarious dialogue from him to continue.  I know that is just plain wrong, so I will be sure to inform him of his mistaken cell phone contact . . . soon.  We’ve all done it before, called the wrong number.  Unfortunately, in this modern age, texting the wrong number instead can be a little more difficult to realize, and a little more embarrassing.  Has this ever happened to you?  I’d love to hear your story of misguided cellular messages gone awry, whether as the sender or the recipient.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Chris permalink
    July 19, 2010 8:54 pm

    What a hoot! Melonmauler26.

  2. Wilson permalink
    July 30, 2010 4:20 am

    My wife used to have a coworker that would get sauced and send explicit messages to his entire address book at all hours of the night. I eventually called the guy and kindly explained how he’d probably be better off if he just took her number out if his address book.

Leave a Reply

