Skip to content

The Long-Lasting Influence of Childhood Indulgences

July 20, 2010

This past week I sure have been fed well by my loving and adorable wife, Nikki.  She indulged me in some fantastic treats that I just wanted to briefly share with the world.  The first was a simple home-made Buffalo Chicken Pizza.

Anybody who knows me at all know that I am absolutely love pizza.  I continuously crave it and could eat pizza for every meal.  My pizza obsession is surely derived from my early childhood.  If I had to speculate, I would credit my life-long love affair with this dilectable American-Italian dish as about 65% influenced by my grandpa (every Friday night of elementary school consisted of a sleepover at his house, a large Godfather’s pepperoni pizza, and TGIF mainstays like Family Matters, Boy Meets World, Step By Step & Hanging With Mr. Cooper) and 35% influenced by my fascination with the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles that continues to this day.  I’m sure there is a psychological analysis just waiting to be theorized based on that previous sentence.

Additionally, I will eat pretty much anything that has the words “Buffalo Chicken” in it, so this would seem to be a match made in heaven.  It sure tasted that way.  And it was so simple to make, I could actually make this on my own if Nikki wasn’t around (which says about as much about my cooking skills as it does about this dish).

Nikki also surprised me one day with a special dessert.  Now I am not a big sweets guy, but I do like chocolate.  A lot actually.  So she went off and made me some Chocolate-Chocolate Chip Cookies one afternoon while I was hard at work.  She truly is the best.  These are just a few of the perks that come with being married to such a loving woman, and a talented cook.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

