Skip to content

On The Road Again….Again

August 3, 2010

It has been a crazy and hectic period of time for Nikki and me recently.  We spent the last few weeks packing up all of our belongings in preparation for our fall tour of churches.  We were boxing up a lot of things that we won’t see again until we reach the Philippines.  We have now vacated the house we were renting and will essentially be wandering nomads, living out of our car for the next six months or so.  It should be a wild ride, and we definitely could use your prayers during this time of transition.

It looks pretty meager, but this is after selling 2/3 of what we put out.

Part of our efforts to move out involved paring down our possessions through the summer rite of passage that is a garage sale.  We had a wide variety of items to offer to the enterprising bargain hunters of Hutchinson, ranging from useful and handy household goods in excellent condition to hodge-podge random trinkets with anecdotal memories attached to worn-out junk that held little redeeming value.  Amazingly though, almost all of it sold, and what little remained we took over to Goodwill, never to enter our home again.  All told, we made $300 on our little summer inventory, an impressive feat seeing as how we threw together this whole shindig within the confines of a week.

We have arrived at our first stop on our trip:  Kansas City.  I taught Sunday School at Nikki’s home church, Glenwood Baptist Church, on Sunday and then we attended the evening service at Red Bridge Baptist Church, which was really great, full of incredibly friendly and loving people.  This weekend I will teach both Sunday School and the morning service at Glenwood again, then pull off the fabled triple-header as we mosey on over to Elm Grove Baptist Church in Bonner Springs, KS.  I’ve particularly enjoyed studying and developing some new material for my Sunday School lessons, centered around the concept of the fruit we are supposed to be producing in our lives as Christians.  I’m going to share what God has been teaching me through this process again here on my blog, but rather than posting non-stop spiritual lessons for a week or more, I’m going to try something new.  For the next few weeks, I will be throwing a Friday Fruit Punch at you, dropping segments of my lesson series in small, digestible bites.  So look forward to that and feel free to engage and interact with those posts, or tell me what God is currently teaching you.  That will do it for now, but expect more regular posting again as I settle into a routine on the road.

Oh yeah, forgot to mention that I threw my back out during this whole ordeal and was confined to a chair for the duration of our garage sale, unable to straighten my back.  Thankfully, my condition has improved and I have no lingering pain anymore.  It is not fun getting old…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Eldon Lee Van Etten permalink
    August 3, 2010 6:21 pm

    As far as getting old just wait until you get…lol

  2. August 7, 2010 10:51 pm

    Nomad into Tulsa if you get a chance.

Leave a Reply

