Skip to content

Discovering the Flavor of Fusion Food

October 3, 2010
This week I bid farewell to the great state of California.  Although it certainly has its flaws, I love the climate (near perfect weather & temperature), the varied geography (mountains, desert, forests, beaches & sprawling metropolitan areas), the excitement & frenzy of the big city life, and the many wonderful friends I have who live there.  And what I discovered on this trip was that I really REALLY love the food there.  While visiting my friend David Mallipudi in Orange, CA, I was introduced to the amazing phenomenon of food truck culture that is taking hold in the So Cal region (if you’ve seen The Great Food Truck Race, you know what I’m talking about here).  David has become quite the fan and keeps tabs on multiple trucks, but one in particular he viewed as a must visit during our stay:  Kogi.

Kogi has 5 trucks that dish out Korean/Mexican food in various locales all around Los Angeles & Orange Counties.  On Saturday one of the trucks was slated to be at a local car dealer in Orange, so we got there early to beat the crowds.  We were first in line!  I had no idea what to expect from the fare offered at Kogi, but David’s raving reviews stoked the fires of anticipation as I nervously glanced up and down the street awaiting its arrival.  As time progressed, we were joined by a gathering throng of hungry OC inhabitants.  Finally it appeared and pulled up to the lot.  After some necessary time getting set up, they began taking orders and dishing out.

Choosing from the many delightfully delicious-sounding options from the menu was tough, but I ultimately went with a Korean Spicy Pork Taco & the Blackjack Quesadilla (Korean short-rib and cheese quesadilla topped w/ verde salsa & sesame seeds).  I wish I had pictures to share, but it was just so stinkin’ amazing, I scarfed it all down before I knew what was happening.  Seriously, this was easily in my top 5 meals I’ve had on deputation.  And unlike eating Chinese food, this filled me up for the rest of the day.  I barely had need for dinner.

Lots of fun Korean/Mexican hybrid options on the menu to choose from.

I developed such an addictive craving for more Kogi that the following week I pitched my friends Colston Copeland and Jeff Craig on hunting down a truck together the next week.  This time we had a substantially longer wait in line but the outcome was the same:  another awesome meal and I’m pretty sure I got them hooked on the spot.

So what have you eaten lately that just made you want to pass out from a food coma because it was so good?  If  you are ever in the LA metro area, give Kogi a try.  You won’t be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

