Skip to content

Day 282

November 3, 2010

I don’t think of myself as a quitter.  But in the case of “The Great Spoon Experiment”, a number of factors have led me to a decision that I don’t take lightly.  Wait a second, that is a depressing way to intro this post.  Let’s start it again from the top.

A View To A Fill Note the fraying of the conclave bowl.

After returning from our latest rounds of travels, I was eager to investigate the progress on my grand experiment.  For those of you just tuning in, last November, while eating frozen yogurt in California, I noticed that my plastic spoon claimed to be biodegradable.  Being the curious man that I am, I couldn’t resist putting it to the test.  In my mind, I envisioned checking in on the progress of its deterioration every few weeks as it soon withered away into a plastic nothingness.  So I buried the spoon in the ground and embarked on this journey.

Bioshock Clearly it states that the spoon is biodegradable.

Fast forward to the present day:  282 days later after that first step.  The spoon remains largely intact. Now I am not ready to call out the manufacturer as dubious in its claims yet, but I have to say, it is clear that this spoon is meant to biodegrade over a period of much longer than my attention span will endure.  Perhaps my initial expectations were poorly conceived, but at this point, with this little of progress to show, I am going to have to throw in the towel.  I realize now that I will not be able to watch this spoon whittle away before my very eyes.

Dishing Up The Dirt As hard as I scrubbed, this was as clean as the spoon got.

“Why, Jordan, why?” you might ask.  For starters, as winter fast approaches, the probability of me being able to chisel through the frozen dirt diminishes.  I also believe my father-in-law will only tolerate my eccentric attacks on his flower bed for so long.

Saying Goodbye This looks like the end of the road for me and Latte.

It is with a heavy heart that I declare a surrender to my test.  The hypothesis of this experiment has proven to not hold up to scientific* scrutiny. Sometimes you just have to know when to cut your losses, am I right?  So the final word:  if this is the level of achievement of most biodegradable products in the market, our planet is doomed.  But what do you think? Share your opinion on the efforts of my experiment and check out past posts to view the progress made.  Also watch for an epilogue post that will cap off The Great Spoon Experiment.

* I in no way claim any kind of scientific credentials and I possess the most rudimentary knowledge of the scientific process from my vague recollections of high school.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Chris permalink
    November 4, 2010 1:53 pm

    You gave up too soon! Bury and leave it for another year!

    • luminousvignettes permalink*
      November 6, 2010 3:17 am

      Eh, I’m moving on to bigger and better things. Besides, science was always my least favorite subject in high school. But thanks for encouraging my eccentricities.

Leave a Reply

