Skip to content

Book Review: Crazy Love

January 12, 2011

Crazy Love

By Francis Chan

I was a little slow getting through this book, but not because of any lack of fascination by what Francis Chan had to say.  Quite simply, this is the kind of read that you must slowly digest and savor, soaking in everything written and the full implication it should be having on your life.  Chan’s reflections on how radical God’s love is for mankind and the radical response it should merit in our own hearts is exactly what this privileged, self-indulgent, materialistic generation of the American church needs to hear.  I cannot recommend it enough.

I think what I like most about the way Francis Chan writes is just how absolutely every sentence and paragraph is utterly dependent upon Scripture.  There are countless verses quoted verbatim; in fact, I would dare to wager that at least 50% of the book is either entire Bible quotations or paraphrases.  Far too often in Christian literature have authors fallen into the trap of speaking biblical truth and expounding upon their perspectives of what the Bible says without actually emphasizing what the Bible says!  That Chan holds God’s Word in high regard is beyond question.  He displays an earnest transparency in sharing his own spiritual journey and personal struggles, coupled with a matter-of-fact, no-punches-pulled, in-your-face examination of how God’s love displayed through Jesus Christ should alter the way we live.  At times I felt excitement well up inside of me, threatening to burst forth in a show of jubilation.  Other junctures in my reading witnessed me humbled, shame-faced, in pain from my own spiritual inadequacies as if I had been hit across the face with a 2 x 4.  At all times I was challenged by the Holy Spirit concerning areas in my sanctification that require attention, for which I am truly grateful to Chan.

If you have yet to pick up this book, then I cannot urge you enough to rectify the situation.  This is without a doubt one of my hands-down top picks from 2010.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Chris permalink
    January 12, 2011 4:46 am

    Indeed, it is a good read with a great challenge.

    • luminousvignettes permalink*
      January 13, 2011 2:27 pm

      Yeah, it really was. I also want to check out that book Keith Gandy had with him back in October at the World Outreach Celebration, Radical by David Platt. That too sounds like another challenging read. I picked it up at Mardel’s but I’ve been pretty busy working my way through some of my other reading. So many books, so little time.

Leave a Reply

