Skip to content

Pizza War: National Pizza Week!

January 16, 2011

Pizza With Chutzpah After  Christmas and Easter, my favorite holiday would have be National Pizza Week.  It is like Hanukkah for the pizza fanatic, only with more parmesan.  For those of you who missed it, last week this very special event was in full swing.  So last night, I joined Nikki and her parents for a night out at Stone Canyon Pizza, an excellent local pizza chain here in the KC area that I had yet to sample.  It was time to rectify that terrible oversight, and I must say I was not disappointed!  I chose the Fuzzy’s Favorite:  a double layer of pepperoni and mozzarella, topped with red and green pepper and a dash of cheddar.  I modified it, though, into what from henceforth shall be known as the Jordan’s Favorite, replacing the red pepper with red onion (crazy, I know).  Here’s a quick run-down of my initial reaction to my Stone Canyon experience:

1) Sauce The sauce was not the strongest element of this pizza, but that’s okay.  It was a very complementary feature to the cheese, crust and toppings, with just the right amount of sweet savory taste.  I normally prefer a bit more sauce lathered on, but I really have no complaints about the sauce.

2) Cheese The double dosage of mozzarella lent the Jordan’s Favorite with an excellent in-your-face cheesy dominance.  I was especially impressed with the added sharp punch lent by the sprinkling of cheddar mixed in.  It was the kind of cheesy flavor that you dream of from a great pizza.

3) Crust To be honest, the crust was the scene-stealing element at Stone Canyon.  Not too thick, not too thin, the original crust that I chose was perfectly cooked, firm enough to support the pizza and its toppings but doughy enough to grab your attention and hold it.  Probably the best compliment I can pay to the crust is that it was reminiscent of the splendid flavor of the crust at Breadeaux (which is my all-time favorite and beloved pizza chain).  It didn’t top the master, but was certainly worthy of joining the ranks of Breadeaux in style of crust.

4) Toppings The pepperoni was incredibly meaty, the veggies added a perfect mix of cool crispness in taste; the toppings at Stone Canyon cannot be praised enough!  I think I will really make it a habit of combining pepperoni with red onion and green pepper; truly it is accurate to bequeath this concoction as the Jordan’s Favorite.  Give it a whirl the next time you’ve got a craving for some pizza!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2011 10:30 pm

    This is why I love you! Great post here. I love the way you wrote about it. I felt like I was there with you. OH WAIT! I was! HA! Man I’m hilarious! (and that’s why we belong together.) =)

    • luminousvignettes permalink*
      January 17, 2011 2:25 am

      Awww….thanks sweetie! I appreciate your encouragement of my obsession with pizza.

  2. Tim Adrian permalink
    January 31, 2011 11:21 pm

    Best Pizza ever!!!! Beau Jo’s Pizza – the original is in Idaho Springs, CO just a stone throw from I-70. There are several Beau Jo’s in Denver but it’s worth the 30 minute drive into the mountains to experience this treat. Jordan…. you won’t be sorry if you make a pilgrimage – trust me, I’m a fat guy.

    • luminousvignettes permalink*
      February 7, 2011 7:11 pm

      Thanks Pastor Tim for that recommendation. I will be sure to give Beau Jo’s a spin if we make it to Colorado later this spring (crossing my fingers).

Trackbacks

  1. Nostalgia and the Onset of Cravings « Luminous Vignettes

Leave a Reply

